Lotus Design

Philosophical Yoga Styles

It is now impossible to imagine our society without yoga as a leisure activity. In the course of time, in addition to the classical forms of yoga, other variations have been established that can introduce yoga enthusiasts to the diversity of yoga. Everyone can find an approach suitable for themselves.

Sivananda Yoga: With a lot of discipline
Essentially, this form of yoga is about stretching, breathing and relaxation. Regular practice of the asanas, intensive breathing exercises, meditation and deep relaxation, a healthy vegetarian diet and positive thinking are the cornerstones of this classic holistic yoga practice. A great deal of discipline is required, but at the same time the continuous intensive practice can strengthen the body, help to achieve more serenity in everyday life and more inner strength. The Sivananda Centres can draw on a worldwide network and decades of experience.

Jivamukti yoga: With dedication
Jivamukti yoga not only involves the practice of asanas, but also requires practitioners to engage in spiritual practice in the form of philosophical teachings as contained in the ancient scriptures. According to the five principles, this variation encourages a non-violent, compassionate way of life, devotion to and self-realisation through the practice of yoga, the chanting of mantras, meditation, and the development of a healthy body and mind.

Anusara yoga: With joy in doing
This variation was developed in the 1990s in the USA by John Friend. It focuses on a healthy inner attitude towards oneself and the community in today's fast-paced world. The focus here is not on perfecting yoga, but on the joy of practising the asanas. Mindfulness of one's own body makes it possible to connect with oneself. This leads to an enriching self-awareness. 

Kundalini Yoga: The Cosmic Connection
In every human being there is an inherent power called Kundalini. It is located in the lower end of the chakras and is also called the sleeping snake. Through this style of yoga, this energy is supposed to be awakened and rise upwards through the seven chakras. When it reaches the upper chakra, it can connect with the cosmic soul and the person can attain supreme happiness. Intensive yoga exercises with long holding of the postures, strong deep breathing, chanting of mantras and intensive meditation are the foundations of this intensive yoga style, which was developed in the West by Yogi Bhajan.
These yoga styles are usually characterised by slower movement and are not only for physical exercise. They also include elements that can convey the spiritual background of yoga and a holistic way of life.