Lotus Design
placeholder

Philosophie

Inspiration

In Far Eastern traditions such as Buddhism, the lotus flower is a symbol of the fundamentally positive core of our humanity. No matter what we are or what we do, we all carry this inner richness within us. When the appropriate conditions - inner and outer - come together, this core of being can unfold in all its beauty, like the lotus that takes root in the mire and displays a flawlessly beautiful blossom on the surface of the water. 

The beauty of this inner potential is what inspires the Lotus Design brand. Lotus Design products are meant to be a tribute to this potential. They want to inspire to discover beauty within oneself, through the path of yoga and meditation. 

Origin

The Lotus Design brand emerged at the end of the 1980s from the "cushion project" of the Buddhist association Nyingma Zentrum Deutschland e. V. in Münster. Meditation cushions were sewn in the rooms of the association, filled with buckwheat husks and then sold to meditation centres and esoteric bookshops all over Germany. The proceeds were used, among other things, to help finance the association's house in Münster. 

Together with the small print shop of the Nyingma Centre, Dharma Druck- und Vertriebs GmbH was founded in 1994 and a commercial hall was rented in Altenberge near Münster. In January 1998, the trademark "Lotus Design" was registered in the trademark register. In 2000, the Nyingma Centre moved its headquarters to Cologne-Nippes. The operation of the print shop in Altenberge was discontinued. In 2006, Lotus Design moved to Pulheim near Cologne, then in 2018 to Cologne-Ehrenfeld. 

Today

Since summer 2022, Lotus Design has belonged to the private company Lotus Works GmbH. We, the Lotus Works team - long-time employees of Lotus Design - continue to feel committed to the origin and spirit of Lotus Design. We continue to keep the connection to the Buddhist Nyingma Centre alive through cooperations, such as the books of the publishing house of the Nyingma Centre, which we offer here in our webshop.

Lotus Design
placeholder

Philosophie

Inspiration

In fernöstlichen Traditionen wie dem Buddhismus ist die Lotus Blume ein Symbol für den grundlegend positiven Wesenskern unseres Menschseins. Ganz gleich, was wir sind oder was wir tun, wir alle tragen diesen inneren Reichtum in uns. Wenn die entsprechenden Bedingungen – innere und äußere – zusammenkommen, kann sich dieser Wesenskern in seiner ganzen Schönheit entfalten, wie der Lotus, der im Morast wurzelt und an der Wasseroberfläche eine makellos schöne Blüte zeigt. 

Die Schönheit dieses inneren Potentials ist das, was die Marke Lotus Design inspiriert. Lotus Design Produkte sollen eine Hommage an dieses Potential sein. Sie möchten dazu inspirieren, Schönheit in sich selbst zu entdecken, durch den Weg des Yoga und der Meditation. 

Herkunft

Die Marke Lotus Design ist Ende der 80-ziger Jahre aus dem „Kissenprojekt“ des buddhistischen Vereins Nyingma Zentrum Deutschland e. V. in Münster entstanden. In den Vereinsräumen wurden Meditationskissen genäht, mit Buchweizenschalen befüllt und anschließend an Meditationszentren und esoterische Buchhandlungen in ganz Deutschland verkauft. Mit den Einnahmen wurde u. a. die Finanzierung des Vereinshauses in Münster unterstützt. 

Zusammen mit der kleinen Druckerei des Nyingma Zentrums wurde 1994 die Dharma Druck- und Vertriebs GmbH gegründet und eine Gewerbehalle in Altenberge bei Münster angemietet. Im Januar 1998 wurde die Marke „Lotus Design“ ins Markenregister eingetragen. Im Jahr 2000 verlegte das Nyingma Zentrum seinen Sitz nach Köln-Nippes. Der Betrieb der Druckerei in Altenberge wurde eingestellt. 2006 zog Lotus Design nach Pulheim bei Köln, 2018 dann nach Köln-Ehrenfeld. 

Heute

Seit Sommer 2022 gehört Lotus Design zu der privaten Firma Lotus Works GmbH. Wir, das Team von Lotus Works – langjährige Beschäftigte von Lotus Design –, fühlen uns weiterhin der Herkunft und dem Spirit von Lotus Design verpflichtet. Die Verbindung zum buddhistischen Nyingma Zentrum halten wir weiterhin durch Kooperationen lebendig, wie z. B. durch die Bücher des Verlags des Nyingma Zentrums, die wir hier in unserem Webshop anbieten.